Symphony n°1 for strings op 32
Close the window

8 6 6 4 2

(May 2005)

Written in May 2005, the Symphony for Strings is the orchestration of the String Quartet op 26.
It is a commission of Radio France and was created at the Festival Présences in February 2006 by the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France.
More than one simple transcription from 4 to 26 instrumentalists, the work gives rise to a new musical relief. Indeed, while remaining faithful to the writing of the Quartet, the orchestration emphasizes new instrumental exchanges and proposes a different distribution of themes. In that, the shape of work is new.
The Symphony is composed of five movements, each with duration of approximately 2mn and a particular writing and musical atmosphere. However the unity of the work was deeply reflected, one can thus appreciate the connections between the Ist and Vth movements, and the IInd and IVth movements. The IIIrd movement, central point of the work, answers as for him a radically different writing.


Retour en haut de page

(c) Florentine Mulsant, 2012