Sonata for cello and piano op. 25
Close the window

cello and piano


This Sonata which duration is 16 mn is in four movements . The piece is written around a very expressive melodic thema played by the cello alone at the begining of the 1st movement . It will be constantly developped and varied during all the Sonata. The 2nd movement is very fast and rythmical. Written in the spirit of a scherzo, it is composed with 2 elements which are given to each instrument.These 2 elements are reversible. The 3rd movement is a Lamento : it offers a large and very expressive cadenza for the cello built around the initial thema. The Final is a perpetual movement, playing with rythmical figures of 5 notes . This 4th movement is concluded with the come back of the first thema as a coda. This Sonata has been written in a climate of solitude and meditation.


     Extract from the first movement 2’21’’

     Extract from the third movement 1’51’’

Retour en haut de page

(c) Florentine Mulsant, 2012