String Quartet n° 5 op 88
Close the window

2 violins, viola, violoncello


String Quartet n° 5 op 88

With a duration of 15 mn, the String Quartet n° 5 has been written in autumn 2019.
It is a commission of the Ouessant Festival and is dedicated to Jean Gagnaire.
It consists of three movements.
The first movement is very expressive and consists of a theme uttered by the cello, almost cadenza.It is taken successively by the other three instruments and is decorated with a counterpoint at each appearance.
The second movement with a duration of three minutes takes the form A B A'. The first part is lively and cheerful. The central part is more expressive and the return of the first part is modified starting from the measure 63.
As for the last movement, it presents an expressive theme, followed by four variations. At meausre 81, there is a final section, in which a reminder of the theme of the first movement is given from measure 102.
A coda, at measure 110 concludes the quartet in a luminous energy.


Retour en haut de page

(c) Florentine Mulsant, 2012